Logo - MadMan's Web

Journalism or advertorial?

March 5, 2004

The latest issue of Outlook magazine has a piece titled The Body Electronic that I found... strange.

It masquerades as an article about exposing the Indian sex sites on the Internet and how they're hawking women to willing customers. If I didn't know better, I'd call it an "advertorial" for the sites in question. The writer goes all out to provide every last bit of contact information for the people involved in this business.

Examples:

"Business is good.... Earlier, we had services all over India...but stock was proving to be a problem...we are looking for customers for a lifetime..." —Sameer, who claims to be an MBA with specialisation in marketing, on the Mumbai mobile number 098216-86191.

www.indiasexguide.com, true to its name, is more pan-Indian, giving contact details for most big cities.

In Mumbai, you can contact one Robert or Ashok, reachable at 09819437751, who will do the needful. The duo has offices in Churchgate and Andheri (W).

A registration at the indiatimes.com dating site in Kashyap's name (Is Outlook ready with my bail money?) led me to Arun, available at 098218-44021. "I can sure provide the service in Delhi. Just call me two hours in advance," he said. Based in Mumbai, he needs just an hour's notice there.

 

The author concludes with:

My intention is not to raise awareness about Sameer, Arun, Purnima, Robert, Ashok, or their websites. I wouldn't dream of doing that in a magazine that's read by my mother. My honest intention is to make cyberspace a little more worthy of our kids' eyeballs. So I spoke to the cbi about it, whose spokesperson expressed surprise and wanted the addresses of these websites.

Gee, by publishing it in a magazine read by thousands of people, he's certainly raised awareness. Just what we need - a journo on a moral crusade who writes articles like advertorials. If he wanted only the CBI to investigate, he could've given them the mobile numbers in question. What purpose did printing them in the magazine serve?

Go read the article and tell me if you too find it stinks a bit.

TrackBack (0)


Reader comments

Yes, your comments work.

Posted by Tester at March 5, 2004 6:46 PM

"My research with www.bombaysexguide.com ended with Network Solutions, which provides the database for the site but "does not guarantee its accuracy"..."

Network Solutions provides the database for the site?????
Since when did network solutions start doing that?
Ashok

Posted by Ashok Hegde at March 6, 2004 4:09 PM

Dude,
You're finally back with some !@@&** writing :-) Welcome back! I almost thought this blog/site was dead.

BTW, I'm planning to migrate from my current blog and get a decent hosting service. Any recommendations apart from Vesana.com?

Take care.

Posted by Sandeep at March 10, 2004 12:38 PM

Ah if only they provided such details about an article on technology! How many times have I whined when some journo or the other give blogspot.com as a link... never mind!

Posted by suman at March 13, 2004 5:21 AM

Thank you for a great article. I wish people like you were employed there.

Posted by Hoshi Sato at August 1, 2004 3:12 AM

i am happy

Posted by helal at December 9, 2004 7:04 PM

checkers Probaly you should read this. checkers Hope this helps. See you next life. Buy checkers now

Posted by checkers at March 30, 2006 7:12 PM

Post a comment










Remember personal info?


click to make your selection bold click to make your selection italic click to make your selection quoted (uses the blockquote tag) click to add a link





 

Note:

Hide nav bar
Show nav bar